Back to Overview

Broadcasting Press Guild Awards 2016

Congratulations to Russell T Davies, who has won the annual Broadcasting Press Guild Innovation Award for creating the multiplatform series Cucumber, Banana and Tofu.


Cucumber, broadcast on Channel 4, followed the misadventures of Henry Best (Vincent Franklin) as he split up with his long-term partner Lance (Cyril Nri) and embarked on a catastrophic mid-life crisis. Banana, following immediately after Cucumber on E4, explored in greater detail the lives of younger characters glimpsed in Cucumber. Finally, 4OD’s short documentary series Tofu looked at real-world sex through a combination of interviews and fictional sketches.


The winners were announced at an awards lunch at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane in London. Congratulations once again to Russell T Davies and the casts and crews of Cucumber, Banana and Tofu!